Posted by: hungryguy | February 9, 2013

Garcinia Cambogia diabetes update

I am losing track a bit without looking at my notes but it seems it is coming up on at 4 weeks with the garcinia cambogia and my Type 1 diabetes.  My insulin is now down just less than 10% from before I took the Garcinia (from having to go down over 20% at the start of taking it).  I have also noticed that I have been a bit hungrier lately than I was when I first starting taking it.  It could be that taking the supplement constantly is less effective than taking it for 2 weeks on and 1 week off.

However my weight was still down 1.4 pounds last week (not the 6 pounds I lost during some other weeks but still down).  I am keeping everything else consistent – I am still following the weight watchers points plus plan, still walking 5km per day and still playing ice hockey 1-3 times per week.  I am expecting to see another good weight loss by next week or I may try taking a week off the Garcinia in order to let my body react better when I take it again.

Speaking of hockey – being 23 Pounds lighter is having an amazing effect on the ice.  I am much faster and I am moving side to side much better.  In fact I led my team in points on Thursday AND Friday night games.  I scored 3 goals and assisted 2 on Thursday – ALSO scored 3 goals and assisted 1 on Friday.  That is my best two games ever!  Another 40 pounds and I am going to be deadly on the ice.

Current weight is now 261 pounds (from my 284 start just over a month ago).

One thing I have noticed which I believe is from the garcinia cambogia is that my blood sugar remains great during the day with no extra insulin required.  I take 1000mg in the morning 30-45 minutes before breakfast and 500mg 30-45 minutes before lunch.  However I don’t take any at dinner.  After dinner my blood sugar SPIKES WAY WAY UP… In fact I have seen 21 on my meter (normal is 4-7), I have also seen 16, 18, etc.  NOT GOOD.  So I have started taking short acting insulin at dinner time to offset the blood spike.  The thing is, this is happening even when I don’t eat any carbs at dinner.  It seems that perhaps the Garcinia Cambogia works when taking but my body might be just delaying the processing of the sugar and then when the garcinia is out it comes in all at once.

I am going to continue to monitor this.  For now I will continue to take short acting insulin at dinner time to offset these spikes. (needing 7-10 units which is a lot for me – I use to take only 6 units with each carb filled meal).  I will see what happens to the end of next week.  I may look at stopping the garcinia depending on the weight results.  Stopping will also show me what happens to my blood sugar during the day and evening without the  garcinia involved.

Responses

  1. Having read this I believed it was extremely enlightening.
    I appreciate you taking the time and energy to put this short article together.
    I once again find myself spending way too much time both reading and commenting.

    But so what, it was still worth it!

  2. An outstanding share! I have just forwarded this onto a co-worker who was doing a little homework on this.
    And he in fact ordered me breakfast because I stumbled upon it for him.
    .. lol. So let me reword this…. Thank YOU
    for the meal!! But yeah, thanks for spending time to talk about this subject here on your web page.

  3. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an really long comment but after I clicked submit
    my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again.
    Anyway, just wanted to say excellent blog!

  4. I started the pills yesterday…2x/day 1 before breakfast and 1 before dinner. I’m 65 and have had juvenile diabetes since 5 Feb, 1954. Yes you read that correctly; almost 60 years. I am not on a 24 hour insulin so I take 2 shots/day of 70/30 and a sliding scale of Humalog. My weight at the start is 280 pounds most of them skeptical of these pills. I haven’t dieted in years and this is more or less a last ditch effort to lose some weight. I’ll give it a month and even if I lose 5 pounds I’ll continue the use.
    I look forward to something positive. Heck I might lose weight chasing after my 8 week old flat-coated retriever puppy LOL.

    • Good luck to you. Be careful of your blood sugar levels when you start. If you combine the garcinia with good healthy food choices (no BAD CARBS) you should see some results. Let me know how it goes and specifically how it changes your insulin regime.

  5. I started this without consulting my endocrinologist because I had an appointment 1 week after starting. If this is a fat burner I’ll need to check my keytones a lot. The sugar levels…no problem :)
    Thanks for doing this!
    Bruce

  6. It’s now 11/11/13 and I haven’t lost a pound. Some blood sugars have been lowered enough where my use of Humalog in the sliding scale has been reduced. I noticed yesterday and today that my appetitie is surpressed, but my blood sugars are high. Can’t win LOL. I’ll continue on the pills for the remainder of the month. I hope I have something positive to report on the weight-loss front.
    Bruce

    • Sorry Bruce, i feel your frustration. Sugars going high? That makes no sense. I am afraid like everything, it may still require a food or exercise adjustment in order to be really effective. I am hoping you will see some results and maybe you can make even just small changes to your intake?

      • Make that Sept. 11, 2013

  7. I’m type 1 and received my pills today. I’m 151lbs. and my sugar runs very high. I’ve cut everything bad from my diet and I’m exercising 6 day a week. A combo of Spin and Boot Camp. No good at Boot Camp due to severe RA. I’m 51 yrs old. I need to be about 135 lbs. I’ve cut all sugar, bread, butter, most carbs and booze for 2 weeks now and had no weight change. Exercise daily one to two hours. I hope this lowers my sugar and helps me lose. I take sooo much insulin it’s crazy.

    • Could it be a resistance to the insulin? Do you give your injections in the same spot or area all the time? Perhaps I am trying to state the obvious but giving injections in the same area will cause tissue build up and could cause insulin resistance. I would try giving somewhere totally different (arm, leg, etc) and see what that does. Or your body could be building a resistance to the brand of insulin.. Perhaps a different type or brand to try? High blood should not prevent weight loss. Perhaps something else. Let me know what happens.

      • I definitely have some resistance after 60 years of at least 2 injections a day….multiply that out for a laugh LOL. There is a cretain amount of scar tissue even though I rotae the sites well. The only time I was able to kose a signicant anount of weight was in 1976…ate OK, but exercised 2x a week and had the stamina to do it. Add cardiac issues, a number of other stressors, and I have a problem with weight. If I think of doing much of anything I literally get a wave of tiredness….just from thnking about it.

        So no weight loss yet and I am following the rules. The blood sugars only run high when I cheat and do so knowingly. They are not high for long since I use Humalog as the great equalizer.
        Oh, BTW, if you are active on Flickr my screen name is Radio op WA8IQF and if you are a dog person and have never seen a flatcoated retriever, go to my photostream….you’ll see a couple :)

  8. I just started taking the garcinia a few days ago 3x, before breakfast, lunch and dinner. I have noticed a spike in my sugars lately. I do not have a workout routine established yet so i’ve begun eating better first. I feel somewhat bloated today, not sure why. I may do the breakfast and lunch thing and leave dinner out. Thank you for posting this, it gives me an idea of what the garcinia will do..or not do. LOL

  9. I also have type 1 diabetes and want to try this. Do you recommend this? I really need to lose weight and walking everyday isn’t cutting it.

    • When added to a proper eating / exercise regime I think it can be very powerful. However please heed the warnings in my posts regarding the potential for extremely low blood sugar reactions. I would be very careful and monitor a lot after taking. It takes a few weeks of usage before your blood sugars come back up

  10. All the comments have made me wonder. I’m a 34 year type 1 and I also want to try the Garcinia Cambogia, but I notice everyone on here so far has mentioned shots and I’m on the pump. That would mean a constant dose of insulin being given and not given whenever needed. I can dial down my bolus and basal settings if need be, but I’m concerned at your mention of extremely low blood sugars when first starting these pills as I already have issues with bottoming out without warning. I’ve had sugar so long I no longer have typical symptoms when a low is coming on other than sweating and the sweating only happens when my sugar hits around 30 or so.
    I don’t need to loose a bunch of weight just belly fat after 3 kids, maybe 10-15 lbs, but we all know how hard that last bit is to loose and every exercise I’ve been told to try to target this specific area only builds muscle under that fat and doesn’t help me actually loose it so I was hoping this could be the answer. Any ideas/tips/take it/don’t take it/etc. you could offer for me.
    Thank you

    • I really don’t know what to recommend. What happens with your pump insulin if you suddenly decided to eat less or go without carbs? I would expect doing that would also result in a very quick low blood sugar? My recommendation would be to do major testing during the first week of taking the Garcinia. I would only take the Garcinia in the morning but that does not guarantee no low blood sugar at night… However it might be much better than taking it before dinner. I would start with just one Garcinia 30 minutes before breakfast (right when you wake up). I would then eat as you normally would and test your blood sugars every 2 hours. I know it seems a bit crazy but if you do that for the first few days it should give you a good idea how your blood sugar is reacting with the Garcinia. Depending what you find out you can judge what to do. From my experience, the lows will stable out after the first few weeks.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

